| Saturday, July 11, 2009 |
| Why, as a Red Sox fan, I don't mind Yankee fans. |
August 20, 2002 my dad took his last breath while taking a nap just before a Red Sox game. He never did get to see them move on to the Series, but they did. The one thing I miss the most about him is hearing him screamin' at the TV as I was walking down our street. He would yell at the players and coaches almost as if they could hear him.
I come from a long line of Red Sox fans. My math teacher in junior high used to incorporate math and baseball by teaching us how to find the batting averages of the players. The energy Mr. Arnold had was intense and filled with child-like excitement as he taught it.
I have learned over the years that New Englanders, as a whole, are very passionate about their sports, whether it is the New England Patriots, or the Providence Bruins. This includes the Yankees.
You see, Rhode Island, I think, is centrally located, smack dab in the middle of Massachusetts and Connecticut (I have often joked that the state name should really be changed to Connectichusetts just to be geographically correct). Connecticut, which is a fairly large state, also borders New York City. And hey, let's face it. New York is a cool, cool place. Who wouldn't get wrapped up in all of the excitement handed down from a big city?
The point is, of COURSE Connecticut people are going to like the NY Yankees. Some RI people like the NY Yankees. I find that the majority are from the little town of Westerly, which borders cities such as Pawcatuck, CT. , but again, there is that Connectfactor.
Like all New Englanders, Yankees fans are just as passionate about their team. And I have been engaged in conversations where there is a bit of a rivalry war of the words going on...and in the end, it is a barrel of laughs, perhaps a shared pitcher of beer, and someone always wins. Can't beat that, can you?
I love the fact that we can joke around and enjoy the rivalry as opposed to attack each other over it. And hey, even I like to watch Derek Jeter. No question. (Go Sox!!)
~Chrissyisms |
posted by Chrissyisms @ 1:28 PM  |
|
|
|
|
|
Post a Comment